Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

#FebPhotoADay Day 4 – Stranger

I gave very brief consideration to taking the easy way out and photographing someone without their knowledge, but I said I wanted to come hard every day with this project. I figure that the purpose behind “Stranger” being the topic for Day 4 was so we would have to force ourselves to approach a stranger and ask to photograph them. So, I decided that is what I would do. This man sits at the exit ramp for Greenfield Rd off of I-96 East. He’s there. Every day of every year. I’ve seen him sitting out there in his wheelchair through the most horrific of Michigan winters. One of my uncles knows him, and told me that he does go to a shelter at night. Still, I’ve felt like shit for never offering him some sort of help, seeing as how I know that he is legitimately homeless. So I took Day 4’s topic as an opportunity to meet him. I waited on the side of the exit ramp until it was clear. That way, I’d be able to pull up beside him at the red light. I told him I’d noticed how he’s always there, told him about the project, and asked to photograph him. Of course, he said “yes”. I took this photo, and gave him a fairly substantial amount of money. He said “God bless you,” and that was that.

4 responses

  1. That is a very strong photo. It really is quite sunning and evocative I would guess could hang about anywhere. Great work.

    February 5, 2012 at 6:59 PM

    • Michael LaCombe

      Thank you very much! I appreciate that!

      February 5, 2012 at 10:32 PM

  2. My heart just grew ten sizes. Thank you.

    February 5, 2012 at 10:19 PM

    • Michael LaCombe

      Glad I could be of service, Heather. 🙂

      February 5, 2012 at 10:32 PM

Leave a Reply

