Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

A New Photo-A-Day Challenge?!??!??!?!!

As some of you may know, a few years ago, I attempted a Project 365. This is a challenge in which you take a photo (usually a self portrait, but there are different versions) every single day for an entire year. Here is my bastardized version of one: http://www.flickr.com/photos/dtownpistonsfan/sets/72157622991866423/

I got about halfway through it, and for a variety of reasons (mostly revolving around my move back to Michigan), I ended it. At first, I was comfortable with ending it. Now, I kind of regret that I didn’t push through the obstacles. I saw a story of a guy who has been doing a photo every day since 1999, and his project has survived him being stricken with cancer, several surgeries, and the loss of the use of one of his legs. You can see/hear his story here http://vimeo.com/34525164 . Warning, there are some graphic images from his surgeries, but if you can stomach those pics, his is an AMAZING STORY.

Anyway, this guy has done it for 12 years, and I quit mine because it interfered with packing and traveling back to Michigan? Yeah, not too proud of that. lol As of late, I’ve been trying to figure out ways to better market myself and my photography. I’m in a creative, mental, and physical rut. I need to find a way to get my mind stimulated again, get back to shooting more, and jump start my career. So when I saw this photo-a-day challenge for the month of February (thanks @lala9806!), I figured this would be a great way to start.

Since I ended my Project 365, I’ve become a better photographer, and a more creative thinker. I see this challenge as a great way to push my creative mind further (or farther?), and to help get some more of my work seen by my greater audience (my “social following” has expanded since the end of my Project 365 as well). I also plan to offer a different interpretation of each theme – “different” as in different from the traditional train of thought or the first place that someone would go with that idea. Feel free to do it along with me, and prepare yourself for 29 consecutive days of blog entries! Hold me accountable, comment, retweet, reblog, and I’ll do the same for you.

Here’s the challenge, and a link to the original blog post if you need more info: http://www.fatmumslim.com.au/2012/01/february-photo-day-challenge.html

Leave a Reply

