Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week S/S 2012 – Tracy Reese … and a special must-read shout out.

Even though I shot a few more shows, this will be my last runway show post from #MBFW. I think I’ve dragged these photos out long enough. I have one more post coming up about the different types of people you see at fashion week, but this will be the last post featuring images from shows.

Aside from Kimberly during the Project Runway show, Tracy Reese is the only black designer that I saw at fashion week. Hell, I don’t know if there were any other ones anyway. That’s part of the reason I was pulling for Kimberly so much. Anyway, I have very mixed opinions on what I saw during Tracy Reese’s show.

 

For the most part, there were a lot of very elegant pieces. I loved the summertime hats and umbrellas, and I felt a lot of the pieces had a classy southern look to them, but updated for 2012.

There were still a few things I found troubling about the show, though. My main issue with the Tracy Reese show can be seen in the image below:

1. That shirt…ugh. That print looks so cheap and janky – like a bad curtain or table cloth. She uses it (or a variation of it) several times in several different ways throughout the collection, and it always looks very Salvation Army-ish. That print looks like it’s not good enough to be sold at Family Dollar, let alone be featured at fashion week.

2. That bird’s nest hairstyle. It looks like she couldn’t care less about how her models looked going out on the runway on the largest stage in fashion. This was my first fashion week, so I can’t speak as to how the hair styles typically look, but that just looks sloppy/messy.

3. You can’t see this one in the photo above (but it’s probably visible in several of the other photos in this entry), but a lot of the models sported VERY visible baggy eyes. Again, I don’t know much about what is “supposed” to happen at fashion week, but baggy eyes seems like it should be an easy fix for a fashion week makeup artist. Why was no care given to that? If you’re the only black designer at fashion week, shouldn’t you be making sure that all you’re “i”s are dotted and “t”s are crossed? Why send models down the runway with messy hair and baggy eyes?

For obvious reasons, I choose to feature only the best photos from a show on my blog. If I have a photo that is out of focus or poorly framed, I won’t post it. Additionally, if I think a model just looks bad in a photo, I won’t post it either. Tracy Reese benefited greatly from this. There were a lot of images that featured the 3 things I didn’t like about this show, and I’m choosing to only post the one. But, take my word for it. There were several instances of that ugly print being used, lots of sloppy hair, and many pairs of baggy eyes.

Aside from those three things, as you can see, there was a lot to like about the collection. Personally, I’d like to see more from what I believe to be the only black designer at fashion week. If I were the sole representative of my race/gender/ethnicity or whatever, I’d make sure that I brought my A-game in every aspect of the presentation – from hair, to eyes, to clipped toenails. This is part of the reason that I was so disappointed that Kimberly from Project Runway seemed to be dismissed so easily as not being “as good” as the other contestants – but I won’t harp on that.

I hope you all enjoyed my posts from #MBFW and Project Runway. It was the experience of a lifetime, and I’m so thankful for anyone that played even the slightest part in molding me into the photographer I am today, and making it possible for me to go to New York. I’ve met so many great people since I moved back to Detroit, and the kindness within our art community can not be stressed enough. People who barely knew me at all have helped me along the way, and during the course of the time I’ve been back, have become highly-valued friends. So again, thanks to all my Detroit artists who helped, encouraged, or motivated me, and thanks to anyone who has ever commented, shared, retweeted, or even viewed any of my blog entries. None of it is lost on me.

Finally, I want to thank myself. I know that sounds very arrogant, but you guys have NO IDEA how hard I am on myself and how little credit I give myself. I constantly find ways to take away from my accomplishments, and the time for that is at an end. While I owe a great deal of thanks to a great many people, when it comes down to it, I did this. I picked up a camera 3 years ago. I taught myself how to use it, and I brought myself from offering free shoots on Craigslist just to learn, to photographing at the biggest stage in fashion, and it’s time I give myself the pat on the back that I deserve.

Thanks for reading. Share, reblog, and/or retweet this post, and I’ll catch you guys in a couple of days with some street shots from New York.

(UGH! It’s that print again! lol)

Leave a Reply

