Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week S/S 2012 – Project Runway: Joshua McKinley

 

(CLICK ON THE IMAGES TO ENLARGE)

Joshua McKinley is one of the more interesting designers on “Project Runway,” and I’m not even referring to his sometimes abrasive personality. He often finds himself in a situation that I find both frustrating and envious. Joshua McKinley is a man that is gifted with what may be TOO MUCH creativity.

Joshua often finds himself at odds with the judges because they feel he went “too far” with his designs. He may take what starts off as a good design, and bedazzle it into an oblivion. He may have the courage to take a chance on something wild that no one else would do, but find that no one likes it but him  – and more often than not, his own approval is all that he needs. I respect that, though.

As a photographer – I struggle with calling myself an “artist,” and only recently came to terms with calling myself a “photographer” – I often find myself yearning for more ability in the creativity department. I wish I could come up with creative ideas as easily as someone like Joshua. That’s why it’s kind of a sore spot for me to see him get ragged on for being “too creative.” He has creativity to spare, and my creativity tank is frequently running on fumes. I’m always looking for ways to improve in that category.

Take, for instance, the image above. Individually, I like the pieces. I like the jacket, and I like the fabric used for the dress. But together? It just sort of seems like too much. Or, look again at the image at the top of the page – enlarge it if you have to. Look at the belt. Is that the same style of belt they use on shopping carts at the grocery store? lol Again, another example of him doing something someone else probably wouldn’t do, and that may not go over well with a lot of people. At the same time, you have to respect someone who is willing to do something like that.

 

 

I think that, ultimately, Joshua’s inability to tone it down will cost him this competition. It seems that, even when he tries to tone it down, he doesn’t know how. He only knows “extra.” lol He will be alright, though, because there will ALWAYS be a market for people like him because there will always be consumers who thrive for “extra.”  I don’t even want to make it sound like there’s something wrong with him. There’s not. I’d much rather have the problem of being too creative, than my current problem of not being creative enough. I definitely respect Joshua, but I suspect he will have to settle for a runner up position on this season’s “Project Runway.”

 

Leave a Reply

