Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week S/S 2012 – Project Runway: Laura

(CLICK IMAGES TO ENLARGE)

Clearly, Laura is a fan of sheer clothing. lol As you will see later, even Laura herself was sporting some sheer clothing when she introduced her collection at #MBFW. Laura was the first designer to show her collection, and I had no clue what to expect.

The first thing I noticed was that Laura brought more creativity to her collection than I was accustomed to seeing on the show. She did something a little different with the sheer tops, but I don’t want to assume that was her stepping out of her comfort zone. Maybe the Lifetime Channel isn’t a big fan of nipples. lol Very few (if any) of the other Project Runway designers went that route, so it helped Laura stand out.

While Laura did bring some nice pieces to the table, nothing really jumped out at me as stunning. This may be why she left the show at the time she did. She rarely (if ever) sent some trash down the runway, but she also rarely knocked the judges socks off as well.

I did note one thing (just now) that was pretty cool. See the image above? It appears that very same dress is being worn by the model that graces the background of Laura’s Twitter page (@LKathleenDesign). I’m not sure why I find that cool – it’s not like I took the photograph. 🙂 Also, I dig the golden arm bangles she has on each model’s right arm. I don’t know why I have such a thing for right wrist decorations, but alas… it seems that I do. I’m not a big fan of the hair – looks rather unkempt and has a “just got out the bed, lemme throw this in a ponytail and run to the supermarket” kind of look to it. Overall, I feel Laura did well, and that she will find success as a designer, but I didn’t see anything that made me feel as if she should got eliminated too early and that she should be in the running to win.

 

 

Leave a Reply

