Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week S/S 2012 – Project Runway: Anya

 

 

(CLICK IMAGES TO ENLARGE)

I make no bones about it. Anya is my favorite. Not only is she beautiful, but I admire her ability to enter into the competition only having sewn for 4 months, and produce such amazing work. Week in and week out, she has sent amazing piece after amazing piece down the runway – sometimes despite various mishaps and misfortune. Remember the outfit she made for $11?

 

(I dig the belt here.)

So, it goes without saying, as soon as I found out I would be shooting the Project Runway show at #MBFW, I immediately began to look forward to seeing what Anya would send down the runway. While I was not disappointed, I was not floored either.

Anya’s designs often left me in awe on the show, but while everything she sent down the runway at #MBFW was nice, nothing really jumped out to me as stunning. In fact, I’d argue that the  best outfit was worn by Anya herself.

Maybe my expectations for Anya were too high, and what she sent down the runway will be good enough for her to win. She also has a great story – having only been sewing for 4 months prior to the competition – and I know that reality TV shows eat up the “good story.” But for me, none of her designs really struck me as fresh or fashion forward. I was expecting to see something jaw-dropping that I’d never seen before – something that women worldwide would clamor for. I didn’t.

There was a cohesiveness in her collection, which I can appreciate. But I wish it could have been cohesively AWESOME. I wish Anya the best of luck, though. No matter what happens, she will still be my favorite because I’m a shallow man and she’s gorgeous. lol

 

 

2 responses

  1. Boo & hiss… If the competition was all about resort wear then maybe.

    October 25, 2011 at 8:39 PM

    • Michael LaCombe

      Completely agree.

      October 26, 2011 at 8:55 PM

Leave a Reply

