Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week S/S 2012 – Project Runway: Bert

 

(CLICK IMAGES TO ENLARGE)

Bert was one of my least favorite designers on the show. I didn’t particularly care for most of his designs. He had his moments, but for the most part, his designs seemed quite dated. He wasn’t the worst by any means, but he did send some of the most tragic outfits down the runway.

So, when I saw Bert come out to introduce his collection, my expectations were quite low. However, I was pleasantly surprised.

While I’m not a big fan of the pockets on the dress – women with their hands in their pockets just look weird to me – I appreciate the general elegance of his collection. Most of his pieces were quite classy, and definitely more than I was expecting from Bert.

I noted a lack of accessories on Bert’s models. The designs are strong, but maybe some expertly-chosen accessories would have enhanced them even more. Since Bert is an older man, I figure he probably looked at accessories as a crutch and didn’t want to draw attention away from the clothes. A nice necklace wouldn’t have hurt, though.

It’s clear that, had been Bert had the opportunity to stay longer, he possibly could have flourished. Overall, I’m glad I was wrong about his ability to put out a nice product. He had a good showing at #MBFW and I wish him the best of luck in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

