Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week S/S 2012 – Caught In A Crowd…

(CLICK IMAGE TO ENLARGE … I highly recommend you do this.)

I spotted this young lady amid a huge crowd in the Lincoln Center plaza following a fashion show. I was wandering around the plaza, looking for people to photograph for posts just like this one. I did particularly well that day, for the record.

Anyway, for obvious reasons, she caught my eye. While my goal was to photograph people with an interesting look, when you spot a pretty young lady and your camera is at-the-ready, you’d be a fool not to take the photo. I raised my camera, and as soon as I went to press the shutter, some asshole walked in front of my shot. lol No, he didn’t do it on purpose, but yes, he is still an asshole. Well, at least he WAS.

Upset that my perfectly framed photo had been ruined, I snapped a few more photos and went about my business. When I finally looked at the photo in the back of my camera, I thought, “Hey, that ain’t half bad! This may require a closer look on the monitor.” Sure enough, when I viewed the full size photo, I was stunned. Not only did  I like my mistake, I loved it. The fact that the passing gentleman’s silhouette (yes, he’s now a gentleman and no longer an asshole) perfectly curved around her face, turned what I originally perceived to be a missed opportunity into a stroke of good luck. The fact that only her face is in focus, adds some mystery to her. Who is she? What is she looking at? Where is she? What is she thinking? The fact that there is no story, is the story.

Anyway, I figured I’d throw this photo up here for today’s blog post in order to buy myself some time to figure out what fashion show I want to post on Wednesday. lol I hope you guys like the photo, but it doesn’t really matter because I like it. 🙂 Oh, and here’s one more photo of her, unobstructed.

One response

  1. Aww, I love this. Glad you could turn a negative into a positive (no pun intended………) 😀

    http://trendsandtribulations.wordpress.com

    August 7, 2012 at 4:53 PM

Leave a Reply

