Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week S/S 2012 – Marlon Gobel

(CLICK IMAGES TO ENLARGE)

This show was interesting for a number of reasons. For starters, I got to shoot backstage for this one. Shooting backstage always has the potential to be interesting. Out of all the photographers who walk the face of this Earth, very few get the opportunity to photograph Fashion Week in New York. Of those few, even fewer get to see what goes on backstage prior to a fashion show on the biggest “stage.” Cameras flashing, interviews taking place, makeup being applied, hair being done, clothes being tried on (nudity, lol), and just a furious rush to make sure everything is ready in time for the show.

Having said all that, THIS backstage was fairly uneventful. lol I dropped the ball on getting the full backstage experience because I didn’t realize there were TWO of them – on entirely separate floors. The one I shot in was just for hair/makeup, and there was an entirely separate one for wardrobe on another floor.  I didn’t discover the wardrobe one until it was time for me to secure a spot in the risers. No worries, though. It wasn’t my only backstage experience during fashion week, and these shots are bonus.

The second interesting thing about this show was the backdrop. Note the bags of potato chips in the background. lol Real bags. Hundreds of them. Yet, I still felt awkward when I considered taking one. I don’t even eat chips. The colorful background went well with the colorful collection, though.

The third interesting thing about this show was that Omarion was in attendance. That was probably the most random sighting I had during all of fashion week. lol Even more wild was the fact that they brought him in like he was Barack Obama. lol Everyone was seated, the lights were down, then I heard someone say “OK, bring him in.” Then he was quickly ushered in to his front row seat. I got excited. “Who is that??!?” Then… “Oh. It’s just Omarion.” lol

I liked some of what I saw at this show. I’m a fan of the colors … photographically. They look good in images. I could never see myself actually wearing something that loud. I’m also not totally on board with the man bag phase just yet. Some of them I like – those that resemble briefcase, or even over-the-shoulder ones that you can wear across the body. Whatever the man in the picture below is carrying … I’m straight on that. lol I love the photo though!

Shit looks like a fashionable laundry bag. Gotta take your clothes to the laundromat in style, right?

Anywho… check out a few more pics, and return on Monday for… I don’t know  yet. But I’ll be posting SOMETHING on Monday!

For a full gallery, head here —–> http://www.flickr.com/photos/dtownpistonsfan/sets/72157627663621319/

One response

  1. Martin Alexandre

    Those Marlon Gobel’s boys in corduroys are fantastic.

    December 11, 2012 at 9:32 PM

Leave a Reply

