Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week S/S 2012 – Lela Rose

#MBFW was my first time ever going to New York. Prior to going to NYC, I’d been to pretty much every city worth going to – with the exceptions of NYC and Miami. I’d heard many stories about the sort of craziness that goes on in New York, and I was fully prepared for whatever The Big Apple could throw at me. I wasn’t, however, prepared for what mother nature would throw at me on the drive out there.

About 2-3 hours away from NYC, my friend Chris and I got stuck in Pennsylvania. There had been a hurricane a day or two before, and the leftover water had essentially run down into central Pennsylvania, overflowing the Susquehanna River. They blocked off the highway on the route we were traveling, as well as all the other routes in/out of the city.

Following several harrowing experiences, Chris and I decided to craft our own route out of the city. We were forced to take a detour from our detour, and were driving in the middle of nowhere in the middle of a torrential downpour. It was an experience neither of us will ever forget. We finally made it back to the original highway that had been blocked off, but there was no way I was going to make it to NYC in time to shoot ANY of the shows I was supposed to shoot during the first day of #MBFW. I was devastated… momentarily.

We DID make it to NYC around 4-5 o’clock. My last show that I would have shot started at 2:30, so I missed that. However, 4-5pm was still early. There was still enough time to take a nap (because neither of us had slept more than 2 hours over the past 36 hours), and hit the streets of New York City for Fashion’s Night Out.

We met up with our friend Tafari at Bloomingdale’s, and he gave us a first-class mini-tour of New York City. We saw Times Square, had some great food, and some great drinks. Chris and I got completely wasted, had no clue how to get back to our hotel, no clue what to do on the trains, got completely lost, and had to take a cab back to the hotel. Any time that happens, you had a good night. lol

I started my actual #MBFW shooting a day late, but I certainly got caught up. The Lela Rose runway show was a surprisingly good experience. I wasn’t surprised that I enjoyed the show itself. I was more surprised that I was actually able to make it into the show, much less come away with good shots. I can’t remember what time it started – I want to say 11 am – but whatever time it was, I was shooting another show at 10:30am.

I shouldn’t have been able to pull that off, but I actually managed to find a way to weasel myself backstage for the 10:30 am show. Actually, that show was a presentation (refer to the previous post for a reminder on what the difference is between a presentation and runway show). I got backstage for the presentation, snagged some shots, then entered the area where the presentation was being held prior to it even starting. As they lined the models up, I got my shots. By the time they let everyone in, I only needed about 5 more minutes before I had all the shots I needed/wanted. I was able to jet out of their early, and head over to the Lela Rose show.

I liked the vast majority of looks I saw during the Lela Rose show – particularly the more colorful ones. I am, and always have been, a big fan of vibrant colors (and black, I’ve always liked black, can never go wrong with black). I shot a few shows that featured drab/ugly browns and greens – not a fan of those. By this point in my #MFBW experience, I was starting to recognize  models from other shows. I assumed that each designer would have his/her own  models. It appears that there is just one pool of models, and they all work different shows.

The following girl, I saw several times.  I liked her look, and I thought she was pretty attractive. But for some reason, at EVERY SINGLE SHOW I SHOT that she was in, I was never able to get a good close-up shot of her. For some reason, my camera refused to focus on her face – EVERY SINGLE TIME. That fact still eats at me. lol

Check out a few more pics, and head over here for a full gallery ————–> http://www.flickr.com/photos/dtownpistonsfan/sets/72157627707487474/

Be back with another post in a couple of days.

4 responses

  1. Wow! You had a hella-fied time getting to NY, but it was definitely worth it. Your photos look amazing! I’m so glad you were able to go and live out your dreams. 🙂

    September 21, 2011 at 5:03 PM

    • Michael LaCombe

      Thanks a lot Asia. You know I owe some credit to you for helping me be better able to build up a respectable fashion port upon moving back here.

      September 22, 2011 at 11:39 AM

  2. So dead at mini tour!!!! Great shots with well balanced lighting. Did you shoot with Kelvin white balancing?

    If you go again; fly, get a pelican case & register….

    September 21, 2011 at 11:55 PM

    • Michael LaCombe

      Man, you have no idea! I’ve already made a list of requirements for next time, and all 3 of those things are on there! Plus I want a hotel by a train so I don’t have to take a bus to the train.

      September 22, 2011 at 11:41 AM

Leave a Reply

