Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

HoneyBoom Launch Party & Fashion Presentation

This past Sunday marked the launch of HoneyBoom, an up and coming online pop-up shop featuring vintage sportswear, streetwear, jewelry, & accessories ( http://www.hnybm.com ). Created by  Christine “Ris” Tena, the HoneyBoom Launch Party took place at The Alley Deck, which sits atop The Magic Stick in downtown Detroit. With downtown Detroit as the backdrop, HoneyBoom launched with beats by the great DJ Sicari, $3 margaritas and sangria, and a rooftop fashion presentation – complete with blow up swimming pool!

A good time was had by all in attendance, including yours truly. I always enjoy a good fashion show, hanging with cool peeps, and of course a strong drink or two (or five). Detroit’s finest models were draped in several different looks apiece for the fashion presentation portion of the party. I saw some stuff I liked, including the sunglasses on the model below. I don’ t think a man could pull them off, but I think they’re pretty dope glasses nonetheless.

My focus was solely on getting dope shots, and I think I achieved that goal. All of these shots were taken with my nifty 50mm f/1.4 lens (dats ma baybee!!), and I think my favorite shot of the event is the one at the top of this entry. I know Ris was probably upset about the rain, but the overcast sky provided a great light, and downtown Detroit provided an amazing backdrop. Taking great photos couldn’t have been any easier, but much credit is due to Ris for the great clothes – and whoever did the makeup did a great job too. So congrats to Ris on an unquestionably successful launch, and a shout out to the homie Jess Noel ( @JessNoel on Twitter ) for doing a great job organizing the event. Everyone involved did a great  job. Check out some more pics, and if you want to see the full 86-picture gallery, head over to my Facebook fan page (while you’re there, don’t forget to “like” me as well!). http://www.facebook.com/michaellacombephotography

 

CLICK AN IMAGE TO ENLARGE

11 responses

  1. Breia

    Great shots!!! You just keep getting better and better. I’ll definitely check out the website. 😉

    August 15, 2011 at 6:44 PM

    • Michael LaCombe

      Thanks Breia! ‘Preciate the love!

      August 15, 2011 at 6:45 PM

  2. I want to steal your life.

    August 15, 2011 at 7:19 PM

    • Michael LaCombe

      Normally, I’d rub it in. But anyone could have come to this. lol

      August 15, 2011 at 7:51 PM

  3. Great shots!

    August 15, 2011 at 10:09 PM

    • Michael LaCombe

      Why thank you, sir! I appreciate the compliment!

      August 15, 2011 at 10:21 PM

  4. Tyrae

    You already know that anything you do behind that camera is great, so I’m sure you don’t need the platitudes… but you shall receive them anyway. Great work.

    August 16, 2011 at 10:01 AM

    • Michael LaCombe

      I need the platitudes. lol Thanks bro.

      August 16, 2011 at 10:44 AM

  5. Khris

    Once again, great job.

    August 17, 2011 at 1:50 PM

    • Michael LaCombe

      Once again, thanks a lot! 🙂

      August 17, 2011 at 4:40 PM

  6. Nice to see you at the event. Your photos look great.

    September 2, 2011 at 8:15 PM

Leave a Reply

