Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Udst Udst Udst Udst … Movement 2011!!!

“Udst udst udst udst” is the written form of the sound you are likely to hear blasting into your eardrums at Detroit’s Electronic Music Festival, “Movement 2011.” The term, coined by the homie Rufio Jones (@RufioJones on Twitter, follow him for great sit-down comedy), can be seen in its visual form in the image above. I went to the festival on all three nights, yet I inexplicably chose the hottest night to go downstairs, in this pit, among hundreds of sweaty dancing techno fans in order to capture this image.

“Movement,” or as we like to call it, DEMF, is an event that one has to experience in order to fully understand why it draws fans from all over the world. The Saturday opening drew nearly 35,000 fans, despite a constant downpour of rain all day and night. From noon until midnight, on 5 separate stages, for three straight days, Hart Plaza was shaken – literally – with sounds from the greatest DJ’s on the planet. People flocked from all over, despite torrential downpour and/or 80-90 degree temperatures to hear them and dance to them.

The image above is probably my favorite from the weekend, and I didn’t get it until the final day. For obvious reasons, she really caught my eye. She stood out from a lot of the other … let’s say, “extravagantly dressed” … individuals at the festival, and I really wanted to convey that in my photograph. While her movement is mostly frozen, there’s still some ghosting along the right side of her body (well, technically it’s her left and our right) that I feel is so suiting for this sort of event. She was a very nice girl, too, and liked all the photos I took of her.

As you can see above, the experience that is “Movement” is not limited to only the young folk…

… although the young folk still do their best to stand out. 🙂

And even Gumby’s need love, too! “Look ma, no hands.”

I absolutely can’t wait to make “Movement” one of the yearly events that I attend. It was an EPIC weekend, and I look forward to many more.

For a full set of images from Movement, check out my Flickr gallery…

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dtownpistonsfan/sets/72157626730241939/show/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. I like the pink hair girl! She’s so ANIME!

    June 1, 2011 at 11:55 AM

    • Michael LaCombe

      I liked her too! She was really cute in person too. She even had braces. lol

      June 2, 2011 at 6:24 PM

  2. tracey

    That’s techno granny maaan! You’ll see her there every year sitting in the front row.

    June 1, 2011 at 3:34 PM

    • Michael LaCombe

      It’s been so long since I’d gone. I definitely do hope to see her there in the future.

      June 2, 2011 at 6:24 PM

Leave a Reply

