Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Imagine That!

Last week, I had the opportunity to cover the International Academy of Design and Technology’s “Imagine Fashion Show” in Royal Oak, MI. The event showcases the work of IADT students and alumni, and a “Best of Show” award is given to the top designer at the end of the show.

IADT packed the Royal Oak Music Theater full of eager fashion fans, and the show was definitely a hit. Hosted by William Malcolm and 2011 Miss Michigan, Channing Pierce, the show featured up-tempo music complemented by killer designs.

My night featured several highlights. For starters, I love getting to sit up front. Unobstructed up-close views are the bee’s knees.This enabled me to vary the angles of my photos as I pleased. Though I was working with a fixed focal length lens, I had the freedom to move around, so it wasn’t much of an issue.

Secondly, as has become the norm at any fashion-related event I attend, I got to see a lot of familiar and friendly faces. I’m very fortunate to have met so many awesome people since I’ve returned to Detroit. SO, follow them on Twitter! @NotoriousBYG @AsiaWillis @FO2LA and @TheSaleRack !

Third, there was alcohol. 🙂

On the photography side of things, shooting the event was fairly simple. While it was dimly lit – causing me to up my ISO quite a bit – I enjoyed not having to use flash. I HATE using flash at these sorts of events. I don’t like to tamper with the light that’s there, deal with recycle times, factor in various degrees of necessary light output, and all other sorts of tomfoolery that goes along with using flash.

All in all, I had a good time at the show and hope to photograph more fashion shows in the VERY near future. All of this will ultimately culminate in my achieving one of my major goals for 2011: Attending New York Fashion Week in September. So in closing, check out some more pics after the jump, and if you want to see the full set of images from the show, head over to http://www.flickr.com/photos/dtownpistonsfan/sets/72157626171880917/

One response

  1. Thank you Michael! Gorgeous pics! Thanks for attending our show!

    April 19, 2011 at 5:31 PM

Leave a Reply

