Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Did You Miss Me?

Well, as you can tell by the date attached to my last post, it’s been quite a while since I’ve blogged. I think it’s time I revamped the blog, as well. I’m not necessarily talking about the visual look of the blog. I want to change it stylistically. Before, I was using it as just another medium in which to post my Project 365 images. In case it isn’t obvious, I’ve abandoned the 365 (more on that later), but I don’t want to abandon the blog. So I’m thinking that in lieu of daily image posts, I’m going to post less often, but the posts will be a combination of writing and images.

Where do I begin? Let’s start with the Project 365. As a budding photographer, I was plagued with a lot of self doubt. Most of this self doubt revolved around what I perceived to be a lack of creativity. The purpose of the Project 365 was to put my creativity to the test. The brain is a muscle. The more you use it, the stronger it gets. So the Project 365 was my Bowflex, and the right side of my brain was starting a 365-day workout regimen. About halfway through the project, it became less fun and more of a burden, and I didn’t want to connect any sort of negative thoughts to photography. This, combined with my move back to Michigan, led to the ending of the Project. Also, I had gained some confidence in my ability as a photographer, and I think I came up with some pretty creative images. Wouldn’t you agree?

Since I moved back to Michigan, things have been going … “less than stellar.” I haven’t booked many shoots, and I have yet to find a 9-5 job. A large part of why I was OK with coming back to Michigan was that, for a number of reasons I won’t go into right now, it presented a great deal of opportunity – opportunity that has yet to be realized.  A 9-5 job would go a long way in helping me head in the direction I want to go, but this job search has proved to be FAR more difficult than I expected. I think my concerns about my current life situation have also sapped my energy and motivation. I find myself shooting far less, and I have to constantly remind myself that I do photography for the love of photography, not for the money. Just because I’m not doing a paid job, does not mean that I should not be shooting. While I have been shooting far less (and that WILL change), I still have managed to capture some images of which I am quite proud. (Shout out to Elton Anderson of Elton Anderson Photography for giving me the opportunity to join him on the shoot that produced the following image. I appreciated the shit out of that. I really did. His Twitter is @L10 . Follow him.) I also plan on posting the Twitter name of anyone who I mention in this post and future blog posts. Why? I’m just a nice fuckin guy.

Recently, I was a groomsman in the wedding of a very close friend of mine, @JGRAMMAR . I decided to bring some of my gear, just so I could snap some pictures for my personal collection to help aid me in remembering the wedding (since alcohol has killed my brain cells). I ended up getting some great stuff, and those wedding pictures turned out to be a huge networking success for me. I only wish I had brought some of my business cards to the reception!

I also had a shoot with local hip-hop artists (and friends) Jaydun (@JAYDUNAVIATOR )and Rufio Jones (@RufioJones ) that turned out some pretty strong images, if I do say so myself. 🙂

Then of course, there are always going to be the obligatory images of my heart and my best buddy, my son.  He’s not on Twitter. 🙂

Hopefully a shift in focus back to the love of photography (as well as a returned focus toward this blog) will lead to my becoming a better photographer, and coincidentally more bookings. 🙂 Things aren’t going well, and I don’t believe in cliches, but it’s true that it is always darkest before the dawn – and I’m in need of a flashlight right now.

So, you all can expect to hear from me more often, and if you’re not already following me on Twitter. You owe it to yourself to do.

http://www.twitter.com/michael_aaron

2 responses

  1. Amazing images. I believe things will turn around for you real soon.

    September 4, 2010 at 9:37 PM

  2. Mike, Keep your eye on the prize. Right now, finding a job is a job & a difficult one to be successful at for most people. Don’t feel singled out (if you do).

    Success is right around the corner & it will happen as soon as your not expecting it.

    In terms of your photography, it was fun looking at your 365 project, perhaps picking it back up & revamping it will be a stress relief.

    Im just saying.

    September 20, 2010 at 3:20 PM

Leave a Reply

