Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Project 365 – Day 56: My Favorite Things

Will this become Part 1 of a series? I don’t know. I guess we’ll see on Friday. Anyway, I rented an 85mm f/1.8 lens, and it arrived today. I fiddled around with it a tad, but not nearly as much as I would have liked. After my family went to bed, I placed the camera around the house and took random pics using the remote shutter release I got yesterday.

I originally liked this pic, just because of the general framing and the sharpness of my tattoo. However, I fiddled around with some textures, and it created that grimy look that the image has now. I put it in b/w and changed the font on my watermark, and here’s the final image.

Initially, it was just supposed to be a pic of the tattoo. It’s my favorite one. I got it in July of 2008, when my son was 4 months old. We bought an ink/stamp pad, and made an imprint of his hand to take to the tattoo artist. Combine the fact that this is my favorite tattoo with the fact that he’s also one of my “favorite things” (lol), and you have the title of today’s shot.

Interestingly enough, the image wasn’t initially meant to be so “dark.” But after blending in the texture and converting to b/w, I thought it looked like I had died a grim death of some sort and this was the position my body was in at the end. CREEPY!

Leave a Reply

