Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Project 365 – Day 30: Contemplation

I’ve struggled the past couple of days (today and yesterday). I’ve been contemplating how I’m going to get out of this creative rut I’ve been in. I was, and still am, mad at myself for not posting a shot I was proud of yesterday. I know. I know. All 365 shots are not going to meet my expectations. Some days I won’t have time. Some days I just won’t have “it.” However, it hit me a lot harder than I thought when I was unable to capture something I was proud to post.

It was my intention all along for the picture to be something film-related, and I intended for it accompany my Best Films of 2009 blog post. I just greatly disapproved of what I posted and I felt, and still feel, it was a cop out.

I woke up at 4 am this morning, unable to get back to sleep because of the flurry of ideas I had for future shots – none of which I could pull off today. So I became even more irritated that I can come up with ideas at 4 am, but when I’m actually up and about and able to get a shot done, I drew a blank. So, it’s been a rough couple of days for me. I’d like to apologize for my family for being kind of dick during this time, but I take this photography thing seriously and it really wears on me when I come up short. Sorry for the rant. 🙂

2 responses

  1. We can’t all have it everyday. I had a hard time yesterday to find a shot, I don’t know how many I took and then deleted. Then it just presented itself. I think the idea is to take a snapshot of your life as it goes each day. So if that’s where you were on that particular day so be it. Don’t sweat the small stuff, it’s just small in comparison. My ideas come to me in the night so I run them over and over in my head so I don’t forget. I write down ideas for shots that I want to try for the future so I have a vague idea for that day what I can attempt. Don’t be hard on yourself. I’m a pencil artist, some days I just have what it takes to get the drawing done but I know it’ll be better tomorrow.

    January 31, 2010 at 5:04 AM

    • Michael LaCombe

      I try not to be hard on myself, but easier said than done. lol

      January 31, 2010 at 11:25 AM

Leave a Reply

