Michael.A.LaCombe@gmail.com (313)402-5385

Project 365 – Day 17: Frustration

***NOTE***
I DO NOT LIKE THE QUALITY OF THE PICTURE IN THIS THUMBNAIL IMAGE. SO PLEASE CLICK THE PICTURE TO SEE IT IN FULL RES. THANK YOU!”

***NOTE***

I get so mad at myself when I struggle to find that creative spark. I see a lot of other photographers and their amazingly creative images, and I kick myself. “Why can’t I come up with something like that? Why do I struggle to come up with creative ideas, while others seem to do effortlessly?” While it may be ridiculous for me to assume that other artists find inspiration with ease on a daily basis, I’d say that this image does a fairly good job of conveying how I feel. 🙂

For anyone interested in how I shot this, I had a flash at 1/16 power at my feet, camera right, pointed up, through an 8 inch snoot. It also had a full “salmon” gel over it that, as you can see, looks much more satanic-red than it does salmon. lol I’m standing up in the shot, and the camera is about at neck-level, pointed up slightly as well. It’s close enough to me that the end of the tripod legs were at my feet. So the camera itself was probably about 3 ft away.

One response

  1. JT

    Haha 😉
    Trust me you’re not alone man. But, the mere fact that you’re aware of what you want is evidence that you are ahead of most. Far too many people are content to simply mimic what they’ve already seen and not look or even wait to be inspired.

    One thing that always helped me is to stop and examine my routine or habits. Every artist does this – we have our on process and approach to the way we work. Dissect your methods then consciously work against them. Doing so will force you to stretch and find a new way of looking at things.

    Also, absorb at the work of artist who aren’t photographers – musicians, writers, painters, sculptures, dancers, actors, strippers, etc.

    Creativity is like a muscle – the more you use it the stronger it gets. The less you use it the more it atrophies. The challenge is allowing yourself to stay open to it when it comes and recognizing all of its faces.

    January 17, 2010 at 4:58 PM

Leave a Reply

